Wintersong – S.Jae-Jones

24763621

 

This will be a spoiler free review because I believe everyone should read this book, I hope you enjoy!

MY RATING: 5/5 stars

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

The last night of the year. Now the days of winter begin and the Goblin King rides abroad, searching for his bride…

All her life, Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, dangerous Goblin King. They’ve enraptured her mind, her spirit, and inspired her musical compositions. Now eighteen and helping to run her family’s inn, Liesl can’t help but feel that her musical dreams and childhood fantasies are slipping away.

But when her own sister is taken by the Goblin King, Liesl has no choice but to journey to the Underground to save her. Drawn to the strange, captivating world she finds—and the mysterious man who rules it—she soon faces an impossible decision. And with time and the old laws working against her, Liesl must discover who she truly is before her fate is sealed.

Rich with music and magic, S. Jae-Jones’s Wintersong will sweep you away into a world you won’t soon forget.

REVIEW:

As a lover of Labyrinth, this book stood out to me like a star, but even if you’re not a fan of it I can guarantee you will love it nonetheless.

Liesl is a really relatable character for starters. She is described as not classically beautiful, but soulfully divine. She has responsibility and she has hardships.And most of all, feeling. Feeling for family. Feeling for music. And possibly feeling for Hans, (I’m sorry but whilst reading about him, all I could think about is Hans from Frozen…interpret that how you will!)

The overall writing is so whimsical and ethereal, Wintersong is such a fitting name for such a lyrical novel. The best world building and descriptions I have ever read are in this book, continuingly amazing me at every turn of a page. The characters are so well written for such an atmospheric book, and diversely so.

I found myself reading this at record time. I felt like I was at the Goblin Grove with Der Erlkönig. What more can you want?

I realise that this review will be brief in order to keep my promise of a non-spoiler review, so here I give you some magical quotes for you goblin babes.

“The kiss is sweeter than sin and fiercer than temptation. I am not gentle, I am not kind; I am rough and wild and savage.”  

 

 

“What is eternal life but a prolonged death.”

 

 

“Love is the bridge that spans the world above and below, and keeps the wheel of life turning.”  

 

 

“His beauty hurt, but it was the pain that made it beautiful”  

 

 

“A sparrow is beautiful in its own way,” Käthe said severely. “Don’t force yourself to be a peacock, Liesl. Embrace your sparrow self.”  

These quotes do not do true justice to this masterpiece, and I would like to thank Faye for reading it so quickly too so I could talk to someone about all of my feelings! (Thanks again!)

I have a Goodreads page here (my profile is private, but just request to be my friend and I will surely add you!)

Until next time,

morganbooks

2 comments

  1. Damn Morgan, hon, your reviewing skills are EVERYTHING. I couldn’t picture anyone BUT Hans from Frozen, same lame guy, right?

    You picked just the right sentences, I loved the relationship between Liesl & Käthe so much! And really no problem, I loved discussing it with you as well, love discussing books with you! You always give very good arguments on why you did or didn’t like that part in the book, or the book itself.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! I think it’s important to share your feelings about a book and really get perspective on what other people think. I usually miss things whilst reading too, so I very much enjoy listening to your thoughts too! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

