Cruel Beauty – Rosamund Hodge

Hello everyone, I read this one a few weeks back and I think I’ve finally collected my thoughts enough to finally write up my review. Cruel Beauty is a Beauty and the Beast retelling, during the time I was reading I did happen to go and see the live action version! I loved the cross over with Greek mythology, which was one of my greatest loves growing up so this was like a mini revision. The rest of the review will be full of spoilers, carry on at your own risk…

MY RATING: 3.5/5 stars

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS: Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.

Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him.

With no choice but to fulfill her duty, Nyx resents her family for never trying to save her and hates herself for wanting to escape her fate. Still, on her seventeenth birthday, Nyx abandons everything she’s ever known to marry the all-powerful, immortal Ignifex. Her plan? Seduce him, destroy his enchanted castle, and break the nine-hundred-year-old curse he put on her people.

But Ignifex is not at all what Nyx expected. The strangely charming lord beguiles her, and his castle—a shifting maze of magical rooms—enthralls her.

As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex’s secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him? With time running out, Nyx must decide what is more important: the future of her kingdom, or the man she was never supposed to love.

REVIEW:

As a whole, I really enjoyed this read. It was fun with swoon worthy characters. However I did have a couple of problems with it, I’ll talk about them in a bit.

I really loved the incorporation of Greek mythology, especially Pandora’s box and how it linked to the ‘baddies’ – the kindly ones. I liked Nyx, our leading lady. She’s strong willed, willing to sacrifice herself and never come across as annoying. There was a lot of romance in this novel, which isn’t normally my forte, but it was fine and now to overwhelming. It was also a very easy read and I didn’t struggle or get myself into a reading slump, very relaxing!

Now the problemos,

There was a LOVE TRIANGLE *shudders* no thank you, although it was somewhat fixed with Ignifex being Shade as well.

Which brings me on to my next point on the cohesiveness of the whole plot. It worked most of the time but the ending? I had to read those pages at least 3 times in order to grasp what had gone on.

There’s a lack of action, Nyx was brought up her whole life to kill the Gentle Lord, but what did she do? Nothing.

I also had a small problem, as I do with the overall Beauty and the Beast story relating to falling in love with  a ‘captor’. Maybe it was an innocent action and wasn’t to be interpreted this way but I did. I really don’t like reading about that unless it is pointed out and commented on in the book.

Regarding the ending, when Nyx decided to live her eternal life with Lux, and not considering her family? One that everyday whilst she was in the castle worried for. Even though again, it worked out differently, I’m not convinced her character was very planned.

But.. considering all of this, I did really enjoy it. I loved the library, I loved the changing mansion. there are so many interesting and picturesque places in the whole book.

6b1039045c420ee62eb8b19bf04623e1

Even if my views seem more weighted in the negative zone, its honestly worth a read.

tumblr_og0zyaO2wA1sx7ga3o1_1280
evilienne.tumblr.com

 

 

Anyway, thank you for taking the time to read this and I appreciate it millions. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did if not more! Comment down below, what is your favourite book of all time, mine is A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas. I’m looking forward to your response,

morganbooks.

 

Leave a Reply

