A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

61YJzE2d8QL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

 

I’m really unsure to why I hadn’t read this book sooner than I did do, let me tell you: I loved it! I felt really attached to the characters and I literally cant wait until the next one, although it may be a while as I’m really digging through my tbr at the moment.

Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis:

Kell is one of the last Antari—magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel Londons; Red, Grey, White, and, once upon a time, Black.

Kell was raised in Arnes—Red London—and officially serves the Maresh Empire as an ambassador, traveling between the frequent bloody regime changes in White London and the court of George III in the dullest of Londons, the one without any magic left to see.

Unofficially, Kell is a smuggler, servicing people willing to pay for even the smallest glimpses of a world they’ll never see. It’s a defiant hobby with dangerous consequences, which Kell is now seeing firsthand.

After an exchange goes awry, Kell escapes to Grey London and runs into Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations. She first robs him, then saves him from a deadly enemy, and finally forces Kell to spirit her to another world for a proper adventure.

Now perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, they’ll first need to stay alive.

Review:

WARNING: THIS WILL CONTAIN MINOR SPOILERS

I will admit, among being completely smitten with this novel, I had a little trouble deciphering which ‘London’ in which, I was finding myself frequently checking back and looking for clues to what was being talked about. But after reading for a while, it was easy to pick out small details to tell me where we were. I just wanted to point that out before, so my advice is to be super observant to avoid be a little baffled.

I loved this novel , (am I being obvious?) firstly we start off with Kell and introducing the aspects of an Antari – which is so, so creative! I was so intruiged to find out the ins and outs of the grey, red and white Londons. I think my favourite has to be either red or white. Red for the fact that its simply bewitching, I could imagine an ethereal and wondrous life that sung the song of the old magic. And white, because the political side: Astrid and Athos Dane and the brutality in their reign.

melaniemichelart.tumblr.com
Kell by melaniemichelart.tumblr.com

 

 

Strange as it may be, I really enjoyed Holland’s character, I like that there was signs of struggle in the control of the Danes and I like how Victoria really emphasized that Holland truly wasn’t in the wrong. I haven’t read the rest of the series yet, but I think that Holland isn’t dead and sending him to black London will awaken something else…

Delilah Bard. Should I say anything else? the most badass character I have ever come upon. Honestly, I want to be more like her, she’s witty, quick and not afraid to be who she is – that’s certainly admirable. She’s also ambitious. She wants to be a pirate. she also have some sort of magic ooooooh!!

So much magic and so much potential, I cant wait to see more of Prince Rhy (My fav), Kell, Lila and hopefully Holland hehehehe…

This book is great for lovers of, Cassandra Clare’s world, Game of Thrones and the Grisha World!

Thank you for reading!

Until next time,

morganbooks

Leave a Reply

